A Word About Prayer

Last Friday, I called home to talk to my brother. I asked him how he was feeling. He said not good. I asked why? He said I have a headache and I’m scared. I think it’s something serious.

Only 2 hours later, after a CAT scan at the hospital, his worst fear was confirmed.

The 10 days since have been the most difficult of my thirty short years. From seeing my brother Lance suffer pain, to seeing fear in my Mom’s eyes, to seeing my Dad bent over, utterly broken. Words fail me when I think back over the past week. But one doesn’t — prayer.

Last Tuesday in particular. We woke up early to be at the hospital before the surgery began. The city was shrouded in fog. All of us, for about an hour, went into the chapel and lifted Lance up in prayer. Each in his own way, my sister with her head on my shoulder, to give up our fears and anxieties, our doubts and cynicisms. 

At midday, about halfway during the surgery, we received news that the cancer was malignant. Since then, the only thing that has sustained us has been prayer. My Mother’s perhaps, the most profound. She prayed to take upon herself all Lance’s fear. Surprisingly, he has been quite upbeat.

Funny how prayers works.

My friend emailed me to tell me Lance’s name has been added on a slip of paper to the Western Wall in Jerusalem. A family friend lifted him up at the basillica in Rome. Another will pray for his health on a week-long visit to Chile. My wife keeps vigil in Warsaw. Everywhere, the prayers for my brother, are being offered up like incense…

And Lance, our prayers have been heard. The Doctor said you may lose your memory. That you may have trouble with speech. But right away, when you woke up, you were so rambuctious and chatty they had to sedate you to let you rest. In the six days since your surgery, you’ve recovered to be your old self.  Full of wit, enthusiasm and charm. Tomorrow, so they say, you may go home from the hospital. Horray!

Our prayers have been heard. So persevere. Brother. My Best Friend.

Parker

11 responses to “A Word About Prayer

  1. Sarah McNaughton

    Oh my gosh, all of this is much too familiar to me. Lance, I have been thinking of you since I found out how, unfortunately similar our lives are. I was diagnosed with a brain tumor about 11 years ago, about a month after Dave and I got married. It is amazing how many stories you hear once you are diagnosed. I had so many people praying and giving me support that I came through it all really well, and I know you will too.
    If you ever want to talk to anyone, who understands it all from the a fellow patient’s point of view, please just let me know, and if your wife wants to talk to someone who “gets it”, Dave would love to lend his ear. He has been there, unfortunately, more than once. And of course, my parents are always there for your Mom and Dad (as am I!)
    It is such a scary time, but I know that you are strong and you have so many people praying for you, not to mention a wonderful family. You will come through all of this with flying colors!!
    I think of you daily and wish you the best! Oh, and on a side note, if the Gamma Knife is an option, it is fabulous!! (Well, as fabulous as direct radiation can be.) I have had that twice as well. There isn’t much I haven’t had at this point!!
    Hugs and kisses to you and your family! Love Sarah

  2. Psalm 4:3….”the Lord will hear when I call to him.” Call friends, call.

  3. Prayer is on going for Lance from the Wehrle family. I also have some Holy Water from the Grotto at Lourdes. This Water was given to me (when I was ill with cancer) by a friend who went on a pilgramage to Lourdes while working as a nurse in Palermo, Italy trying to earn extra money to help with expenses for her sick husband. I will pass this on to Mary Ann ASAP. Love and prayers .

  4. kristin watkins

    Isaiah 40:31
    but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength;
    they shall mount up with wings like eagles;
    they shall run and not be weary;
    they shall walk and not faint.

    This is the scripture that my mom, gave me over and over again… thru life!
    I will never forget it because no matter what I know this is true!
    We are all so happy for Lance and for the progress and we keep the prayers moving daily !!!!

  5. Hello MaryAnn
    Celine Mitchell and I will be praying to Mother Teresa for Lance’s total cure. We plan to pass this on to as many people as possible, and Celine will be asking a group of Mother Teresa’s sisters in Russia topray for Lance.
    Prayer for Canonization
    Jesus, you made Blessed Teresa an inspiring example of firm faith and burning charity, an extraordinary witness to the way of spiritual childhood, and a great and esteemed teacher of the value and dignity of every human life. Grant that she may be venerated and imitated as one of the Church’s canonized saints. Hear the requests of all those who seek her intercession, especially the petition I now implore… (mention here the favor or favor you wish to pray for). May we follow her example in heeding Your cry of thirst from the Cross and joyfully loving You in the distressing disguise of the poorest of the poor, especially those most unloved and unwanted. We ask this in Your name and through the intercession of Mary, Your Mother and the Mother of us all. Amen.

  6. Hi Lance,

    It was great to meet you, Francine, and your Mom yesterday at the hospital. I want you to know that the 23 guys that are part of the golf grove at Hebron are praying for you and won’t stop! We have witnessed the power of prayer through the last few months as a number of our guys have been experiencing some real battles; none more significant than what you are going through. I mentioned to your Mom Pauls’ words to the Romans in chapter 8: “For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. For you did not receive the spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you have received the spirit of sonship. When we cry, ‘Abba! Father!’ it is the Spirit himself bearing witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provide we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him. I consider the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed in us.” I don’t pretend to know all that you’re going through, but I know your Heavenly Father does. There are no mistakes. There are no accidents. There is no lessening in His love and devotion to you – heir of God and fellow heir with Christ.

    With you in Him, your friend,
    Doug

  7. Hey Lance, all of the Progar’s are praying for your healing and strength in the days ahead:) God’s power is an amazing thing, you are a very strong young man with great determination, use and pray for his powers! He will hear you! Please let me know when I can come and sit with you, and share some past , how to handle today, and some good things for your future! Your friend always, Dave(Mr. Progar)

  8. Lance,
    I remember you and Parker showing me the ropes in becoming an altar boy. Do you remember how nervous I was? You helped me right along at good old St. Ed’s with such ease. I really looked up to you guys.

    My family and I are thinking of you and praying for you!

    Adam Janosko

  9. Lance, I haven’t met you, but my prayers are with you.

    I am Morgan’s buddy from Vanderbilt. I still remember the night Morgan asked me to tell him what I meant when I said I prayed about things. I was supposed to be studying for a lab exam (and did horribly on the test, by the way…but it was worth it!). I told him all about my faith that night and his eyes were on fire…so eager to hear more. So I went back to my dorm that night and wrote your family into my journal. God put all of you on my heart, and I prayed for you for many years.

    Now, at this most unexpected and tough trial in your life, the Lord brings me back to my knees for you. I am humbled and honored to be entrusted with your prayer needs. May God do abundantly more than all we can ask or imagine for you, Lance (Ephesians 3:20).

    And for your beautiful wife, Francine, I will also pray. May the Lord grant her an abundance of strength , comfort and encouragement. may His love for you both cover over her.

    Blessings and hugs to you from Texas,
    Linsey

  10. Lance,

    I just wanted you to know if you didn’t already that I’ve been praying for you at the grotto and Basilica out here at Notre Dame as well. You are in the prayers of my whole family. We are thinking about you and praying for you.

    We hope you continue to improve.
    -Steven

  11. Patricia Miller Conway, SMC-ND '73

    Fly fishing is difficult, I never did get it right, you have my admiration for that. I was a college classmate of your Mom’s in South Bend, Indiana. Spiritually, I have sent my prayer from the Notre Dame Grotto from my family to Mary Ann’s family, with love for your continued recovery.

Leave a comment